Award in India - Arjun Award

The Arjuna Award was instituted in 1961 as the highest national recognition for outstanding performance in Sports and Games in the Olympics, Asian Games, Commonwealth Games, World Cup, World Championship disciplines and Cricket. However, controversy over selection has dogged the awards ever since its inception in 1961. As per the revised scheme from April 2002, the objective of Arjuna Awards is to recognize outstanding performance of sports persons, at international level only.

The winners will be decided by a Selection Committee comprising of a Chairperson, who is a sports person of eminence and 12 other members distinguished in the field of sports including 5 Olympians and 4 Arjuna Awardees from different disciplines, 2 Sports Administrators and a Member-Secretary of the Committee who would be the Director/Deputy Secretary (Sports) from the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. The Chairperson of the Committee in consultation with the Member-Secretary may constitute panels from among its members to assist the Committee in choosing the winners. Under the scheme, the awardee is given a bronze statuette of Arjuna, a scroll and a cash prize of 3 lakh rupees along with a monogram, a blazer and a tie.

Only international level performance of sportspersons will be taken into account when deciding the awardees. Sports persons found positive for use of drugs banned by the International Olympic Committee in any laboratory accredited by International Olympic Committee will not be eligible for the Arjuna Awards. The maximum number of awards given in a year would be 15, one award in each discipline. However, in the year succeeding Asian Games and Commonwealth Games an exception could be made for a second award being given to a sports person in those disciplines in which more than 5 medals have been won in the Asian/Commonwealth Games.

Award in India - Arjun Award

The nominations for the award will be invited by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports from all recognized National Sports Federations recognized by the Government of India, Indian Olympic Association (IOA) and State/UT Governments in the month of January each year. As per the revised scheme, the last date for the receipt of nominations will be 31st May of the same year.

The Arjuna Awards are given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, government of India to recognize outstanding achievement in National sports. Instituted in 1961, the award carries a cash prize of 500,000, a bronze statuette of Arjuna and a scroll.

Over the years the scope of the award has been expanded and a large number of sports persons who belonged to the pre-Arjun Award era were also included in the list. Further, the number of disciplines for which the award is given was increased to include indigenous games and the physically handicapped category.

The Government has recently revised the scheme for the Arjun Award. As per the revised guidelines, to be eligible for the Award, a sportsperson should not only have had good performance consistently for the previous three years at the international level with excellence for the year for which the Award is recommended, but should also have shown qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and a sense of discipline.

From the year 2001, the award is given only in disciplines falling under the following categories:

  • Olympic Games / Asian Games / Commonwealth Games / World Cup / World Championship Disciplines and Cricket
  • Indigenous Games
  • Sports for the Physically Challenged

In mid-August 2011, 19 athletes were announced as Arjuna recipients; the high number due to the inclusion of both the 2010 Commonwealth Games and 2010 Asian Games in the Arjuna qualifying year.

In 2012, 25 sportspersons were conferred with the Arjuna awards.

There are Various Games for which Arjun Award given to sportspersons—

1 Arjun Awardees in Archery

2 Arjun Awardees in Athletics

3 Arjun Awardees in Badminton

4 Arjun Awardees in Ball Badminton

5 Arjun Awardees in Basketball

6 Arjun Awardees in Billiards & Snooker

7 Arjun Awardees in Boxing

8 Arjun Awardees in Carrom

9 Arjun Awardees in Chess

10 Arjun Awardees in Cricket

11 Arjun Awardees in Cycling

12 Arjun Awardees in Equestrian

13 Arjun Awardees in Football

14 Arjun Awardees in Golf

15 Arjun Awardees in Gymnastics

16 Arjun Awardees in Hockey

17 Arjun Awardees in Judo

18 Arjun Awardees in Kabaddi

19 Arjun Awardees in Lawn Tennis

20 Arjun Awardees in Power Lifting

21 Arjun Awardees in Rowing

22 Arjun Awardees in Polo

23 Arjun Awardees in Shooting

24 Arjun Awardees in Squash

25 Arjun Awardees in Swimming

26 Arjun Awardees in Table Tennis

27 Arjun Awardees in Volleyball

28 Arjun Awardees in Weightlifting

29 Arjun Awardees in Wrestling

30 Arjun Awardees in Wushu

31 Arjun Awardees in Yachting