Ashok Chakra
The Ashok Chakra series of awards are open to civilians also. Recommendations received in respect of civilians from the State Governments/Union territory Administra-tions and Ministries/Departments of the Central Government are processed by the Ministry of Defence for the consideration of the Central Honours and Awards Committee chaired by the Defence Minister. These awards are biannual and are given on the Republic Day and Independence Day.

The Ashok Chakra is an Indian military decoration awarded for valour, courageous action or self-sacrifice away from the battlefield. It is the peace time equivalent of the Param Vir Chakra and is awarded for the most conspicuous bravery or some daring or pre-eminent valour or self-sacrifice other than in the face of the enemy. The decoration may be awarded either to military or civilian personnel and may be awarded posthumously.
The medal is circular gold gilt, 1-3/8 inches in diameter. In the centre, the chakra (wheel) of Ashoka, surrounded by a lotus wreath and with an ornate edge. Suspended by a straight bar suspender. The medal is named on the edge.

Subsequent awards of the Ashoka Chakra are recognized by a bar to the medal ribbon (Rakesh Sharma was the first to be awarded with Ashoka Chakra). It is possible for a recipient to be awarded the Kirti Chakra or Shaurya Chakra in addition for separate acts of gallantry.

These are few recepients of Ashok Chakra–

Naik Nar Bahadur Thapa,

Havildar Bachittar Singh

Flt Lt Suhas Biswas