Indian Premier League - Chennai Super Kings
The Chennai Super Kings (abbreviated as CSK) are a franchise cricket team based in Chennai, Tamil Nadu that plays in the Indian Premier League. Founded in 2008, the team is captained by Mahendra Singh Dhoni and coached by Stephen Fleming. The team plays its home matches at the M. A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

The Super Kings are the most successful team in the IPL and have won the title twice in succession (2010 and 2011). In 2010, they became the first Indian team to win the Champions League Twenty20. The leading run-scorer of the team is Suresh Raina, while the leading wicket-taker is Ravichandran Ashwin. The brand value of the Super Kings in 2012 was estimated at US$75.13 million, making them the most valuable franchise in the IPL.

Franchise history

In September 2007, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the establishment of the Indian Premier League, a Twenty20 competition to be started in 2008. In January 2008, the BCCI unveiled the owners of eight city-based franchises. The Chennai franchise was sold to the India Cements for $91 million, making it the fourth most expensive team in the league behind Mumbai, Bangalore and Hyderabad. India Cements acquired the rights to the franchise for 10 years. N. Srinivasan, vice-chairman and managing director of India Cements Ltd., is the de facto owner of the Chennai Super Kings, by means of his position within the company. He is a former BCCI President and the current chairman of ICC.

Home ground

The home ground of the Super Kings is the historic M. A. Chidambaram Stadium (commonly called “The Chepauk”) located in Chennai. The stadium is named after former BCCI President M. A. Chidambaram. It is the oldest stadium in India which is in continuous use. The stadium is owned by the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association and has a seating capacity of 50,000 as of May 2013. In 2010, the stadium underwent a major renovation for hosting some of the matches of the 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup. The seating capacity was increased from 36,000 to 50,000 and three new stands were established during this renovation.The Super Kings have a 67.44% win record at this venue.

Awards and achievements

2008 Indian Premier League

  • Runners-up of 2008 Indian Premier League
  • Fair Play Winner
  • Highest total of the tournament (240/5)
  • Centuries: (Michael Hussey 116*)
  • Hat-tricks: (Lakshmipathy Balaji and Makhaya Ntini)

2009 Indian Premier League

  • Semi-finalists of 2009 Indian Premier League
  • Winner of Orange Cap (Matthew Hayden)
  • Player of the Tournament (Matthew Hayden)

2010 Indian Premier League

  • Champions of the 2010 Indian Premier League
  • Fair Play Award Winner
  • Highest team total of the tournament (246/5)
  • Best bowling figures of the tournament (Doug Bollinger )
  • Highest score in the tournament (Murali Vijay 127)
  • Centuries (Murali Vijay 127)
  • IPL Awards: Best Fielder (Suresh Raina)
  • IPL Awards: Most Economical Bowler (Ravichandran Ashwin)

2010 Champions League

  • Champions of 2010 Champions League Twenty20
  • Winner of Golden Bat (Murali Vijay)
  • Highest individual score (Suresh Raina 94*)
  • Winner of Golden Wicket (Ravichandran Ashwin)
  • Best bowling figures of the tournament(Ravichandran Ashwin 4/18)
  • Player of the Tournament (Ravichandran Ashwin)

2011 Indian Premier League

  • Champions of the 2011 Indian Premier League
  • Fair Play Award Winner
  • Won all home matches

2012 Indian Premier League

  • Runners-up of 2012 Indian Premier League
  • Highest team total of the tournament (222/5)
  • Best bowling figure of the tournament (Ravindra Jadeja 5/16)
  • Centuries: (Murali Vijay 113)
  • 1st player to score more than 2000 runs in IPL (Suresh Raina)

2013 Indian Premier League

  • Runners-up of 2013 Indian Premier League
  • 1st team to register 50 wins in IPL
  • Fair Play Award Winner
  • Centuries: (Suresh Raina 100*)
  • Winner of Orange Cap (Michael Hussey)
  • Winner of Purple Cap (Dwayne Bravo)

2014 Indian Premier League

  • First Team to play 100 games in IPL
  • Suresh Raina becomes the first player to play 100 games in IPL.
  • Suresh Raina becomes the first player to score 3000 runs in IPL in which he had played for only Chennai Super Kings.
  • Mohit Sharma Winner of Purple Cap [CSK]
  • Fair Play Award Winner IPL 2014