Indian Premier League - Kings XI Punjab

The Kings XI Punjab (abbreviated as KXIP; Punjabi: ਕਿੰਗਜ਼ ੧੧ ਪੰਜਾਬ) are a franchise cricket team based in Mohali, Punjab, that plays in the Indian Premier League. The team is jointly owned by leading Bollywood actress, Preity Zinta, Wadia Group scion, Ness Wadia, Dabur’s Mohit Burman and Karan Paul. The team plays its home matches at the PCA Stadium, Mohali. Since the 2010 IPL, they have been playing some of their home games at Dharamsala as well. Kings XI Punjab holds the record for the longest winning streak in IPL.


In 2008, Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) created the cricket tournament Indian Premier League based on the Twenty20 format of the game. The teams representing the eight different cities of India were put up on auction in Mumbai on 20 February. The team representing Punjab was bought by the Dabur group’s Mohit Burman (46%), the Wadia group’s Ness Wadia (23%), Preity Zinta (23%) and Karan Paul of the Apeejay Surendera Group (minor stake). The group paid a total of $76 million to acquire the franchise. On 10 October 2010 the franchise agreement of Kings Xl was terminated by the IPL committee along with Rajasthan Royals due to their disputes. But they were brought back.

Indian Premier League

IPL Season 2008

The tournament got off to a slow start for the Kings XI Punjab, with the team losing their first two games. However, 94 runs by Kumar Sangakkara helped them to take game 3. Despite the absence of Brett Lee and Simon Katich (who were committed to tour the West Indies with Australia), the team found its groove. Powered by their balanced bowling lineup and effective top order, the team won 9 of its next 10 matches, clinching a berth in the semi-final, where their run in the tournament came to an end with a comprehensive 9-wicket loss to the Chennai Super Kings.

Many credit the team for unearthing arguably the biggest find of the tournament in Shaun Marsh. The opener from Western Australia was overlooked in both IPL player auctions and was signed by the franchise on 9 April. He finished the tournament the highest run scorer with an average of 68.44 and a strike rate of 139.68 in 11 innings. His innings included 1 century and 5 half-centuries.

IPL Season 2009

Finishing as semi-finalists last year, Kings XI Punjab started with enormous ambitions to win the trophy. Their ambitions were supported by their new sponsors Emirates Airlines. With two available slots to fill the Punjab Kings made bids on Jerome Taylor and Yusuf Abdulla at the second IPL auctions.

The team took a hit as most of their Australian cricketers were not available. The team’s pace department did not have much fire in them after Jerome Taylor backed out at the last minute with a fresh injury.

They lost badly to Delhi Daredevils and Kolkata Knight Riders, however got back to form by beating the Royal Challengers, Rajasthan Royals and Mumbai Indians. Then the team witnessed a roller-coaster ride in their next eight matches with 4 wins and 4 losses. The team’s semi-final hopes were crushed after losing to the Chennai Super Kings in their last match.

IPL Season 2010

Kings XI Punjab lost six matches to Kolkata Knight Riders, Delhi Daredevils, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Deccan Chargers, Rajasthan Royals and Mumbai Indians but managed to win a match against Chennai Super Kings when the scores were level and the match went to a Super Over. Kings XI Punjab were boosted by the return of Brett Lee against Kolkata, but he was not at his best. Shaun Marsh returned in the match against Mumbai Indians. In spite of his good performance, which included a half century, the team lost the match. They ended in last position.

IPL Season 2011

Expulsion from the IPL and return

Following the controversy surrounding the BCCI and Lalit Modi the Indian Premier League announced that it had terminated the franchise contracts of Kings XI Punjab and Rajasthan Royals. The teams announced that they would take whatever legal action possible to remain in the Indian Premier League Initially the team tried to negotiate a solution with the league but when that couldn’t be reached they decided to file a case in Mumbai High Court accusing the IPL of getting rid of two teams so that when the bidding process starts for the 2012 IPL season the contract would be given to a more lucrative bidder

Kings XI Punjab was reinstated with involvement from the High Court and IPL 2011 looked promising when they bought a full strength team with Michael Bevan as coach and Adam Gilchrist appointed as captain.

Kings XI Punjab lost by one match to make it to the play off. They finished fifth in the point table

IPL Season 2012

Kings XI Punjab finished sixth in place among the point table in season 5 of IPL, winning only eight matches out of sixteen.

IPL Season 2013

Kings XI Punjab failed to qualify for the play-offs but batsmen David A. Miller played one of the innings of the tournament in the 51st match against Bangalore, as he smashed 101* off 38 deliveries and included 8 fours and 7 sixes. Coming in at 51-3 in the 8th over and chasing a target of 190 Miller was simply brilliant and led Punjab to a six wicket win with 2 overs remaining.

IPL Season 2014

Australia’s T20I captain George Bailey was leading the squad for the 7th season. Other buys featured the likes of Virender Sehwag, Glenn Maxwell and Mitchell Johnson. Kings XI Punjab got the tournament off to a flyer, winning all of their first 5 games. The stand out player was Glenn Maxwell with his unorthodox and powerful hitting, scoring 95, 89 and 95 in his first 3 innings with a strike rate of over 200. After successfully making their way to the finals against KKR riding on Wriddhiman Saha’s brilliant century (which incidently was the first ton in an IPL final) KXIP posted 199. KKR, however, owing to Manish Pandey’s 90 and Piyush Chawla’s heroics in the last couple of overs were able to win by 3 wickets in the last over.

Head Coach

  • Tom Moody- 2008–2010
  • Michael Bevan – 2011
  • Adam Gilchrist – 2012
  • Darren Lehmann – 2013
  • Sanjay Bangar- 2014 –


  • Yuvraj Singh – 2008 – 2009
  • Kumar Sangakkara – 2010
  • Mahela Jayawardene – 2010
  • Adam Gilchrist – 2011 – 2013
  • David Hussey – 2012 – 2013
  • George Bailey – 2014

Champions League 2014

Kings XI were placed in Group B along with Hobart Hurricanes (Australia); Barbados Tridents (West Indies); Cape Cobras (South Africa) and Northern Knights (New Zealand)

Kings XI’s first match was in their home stadium PCA Stadium, Mohali where they beat Hobart Hurricanes by 5 wickets, overhauling Hobart’s 144-6 in 17.4 overs. Thisara Perera was Man Of The Match with 2-17 and 35*, Glen Maxwell top scored in the game with 43.They also won the second match beating Barbados Tridents by 4 wickets.After also winning third match with Northern Knights the qualified for semi finals .They won their last match before semi finals with Cape Cobras .