NTPC Limited or National Thermal Power Corporation Ltd is the largest thermal power generating company of India. NTPC is the sixth largest thermal power generator in the world and the second most efficient utility in terms of capacity utilisation based on data of 1998. 

NTPC was founded in 1975 to give boost to power development in the country as a wholly owned company of the Government of India. Presently, Government of India holds 89.5% equity in the company and the balance 10.5% is held by FIIs, Domestic Banks, Public and others. NTPC is engaged in engineering, construction and operation of power generating plants. It also provides consultancy in the area of power plant constructions and power generation to companies in India and abroad. NTPC was among the first Public Sector Enterprises to enter into a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the Government in 1987-88. Since then, every year, NTPC has been placed under the ‘Excellent category’ (the best category). In recognition of its excellent performance and tremendous potential NTPC has been given the status of “Navratna” by the Government of India.

As on date, NTPC’s total installed capacity is 27, 904 MW. NTPC’s coal based power stations are at: Singrauli (Uttar Pradesh), Korba (Chattisgarh), Ramagundam (Andhra Pradesh), Farakka (West Bengal), Vindhyachal (Madhya Pradesh), Rihand (Uttar Pradesh), Kahalgaon (Bihar), NTCPP (Uttar Pradesh), Talcher (Orissa), Unchahar (Uttar Pradesh), Simhadri (Andhra Pradesh), Tanda (Uttar Pradesh), Badarpur (Delhi), and Sipat (Chattisgarh). NTPC’s Gas/Liquid based power stations are located at: Anta (Rajasthan), Auraiya (Uttar Pradesh), Kawas (Gujarat), Dadri (Uttar Pradesh), Jhanor-Gandhar (Gujarat), Rajiv Gandhi CCPP Kayamkulam (Kerala), and Faridabad (Haryana). NTPC’s Power Plants with Joint Ventures are located at Durgapur (West Bengal), Rourkela (Orissa), Bhilai (Chhattisgarh), and RGPPL (Maharastra).

Subsidiaries of NTPC

NTPC Electric Supply Company Ltd. (NESCL)

NTPC Vidyut Vyapar Nigam Ltd. (NVVN)

NTPC Hydro Limited, a wholly-owned subsidiary of NTPC Limited, has been merged with the NTPC Limited, its Holding Company

Kanti Bijlee Utpadan Nigam Limited, (formerly known as Vaishali Power Generating Company Limited)

Bharatiya Rail Bijlee Company Limited (BRBCL)

The company has also ventured into oil and gas exploration and coal mining activities. It is the largest power company in India with an electric power generating capacity of 42,964 MW. Although the company has approx. 18% of the total national capacity it contributes to over 27% of total power generation due to its focus on operating its power plants at higher efficiency levels (approx. 83% against the national PLF rate of 78%).
It was founded by Government of India in 1975, which held 75% of its equity shares on 31 March 2013 (after divestment of its stake in 2004, 2010 and 2013).
In May 2010, NTPC was conferred Maharatna status by the Union Government of India. It is listed in Forbes Global 2000 for 2014 at 424th rank in the world.